May 21, 2013

I recently was at Bookman’s and purchased an older-looking paperback in the Paranormal section of the store.  Voices From The Edge of Eternity compiled by John Myers, copyright 1968, Pyramid Publications.  You know what?  Had I read a little beyond just the back cover blurb I would have found out that this is a God book.  I don’t do God books.

* * * * *

My next selection turned out somewhat better.  Not In Kansas Anymore: A Curious Tale of How Magic is Transforming America by Christine Wicker, copyright 2005, HarperCollins publisher.  It seemed at first I had made a big mistake as the first chapter was about her attending a Vampire and Victims party.  Really?  Vampires and Victims?  Those sad little people who dress up and try to tell us that Lestat really exists?  Wackos, nuts and geeks.  If you wish, you may sing that to Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves by Cher.  It works.  I know.  I tried it.  HOWEVER (and I emphasize the however), the book rapidly improved once she got away from the vampires.  I do warn however, that she goes back to the vampires and the werewolves and even finds a few fairies.  No, not the ones that live in San Francisco.  The middle chapters of this book cover Hoodoo.  Mark that.  Hoodoo.  This is different from Voodoo and Voodoo was not discussed in the book.  If you want to find out more, read the book.  This blog is an opinion, not a dissertation.

lucky mojo  This is the Lucky Mojo Curio Company, whose proprietress gave the author much information on Hoodoo and root magic.  It looks an interesting place.  If you wish to see what they might have for you, go to http://www.luckymojo.com

In short, I enjoyed most of this book and rolled my eyes at the rest.  Christine Wicker is an enjoyable writer and fun to read.  Give this a try.

* * * * *

Lastly for today, a quote from Nancy Drew The Clue in the Crumbling Wall.  I know, I know, it’s a children’s book.  But they’re good reading if you want something you can read in an hour and that makes you laugh almost as much as Dave Barry.  In chapter 2, Nancy’s purse is stolen.  Her purse “contained her driver’s license, car registration, some credit cards, money, and cosmetics.”  Her reaction?  “I suppose I should be thankful I didn’t lose more.”  What more could she lose?  She had everything in there except the proverbial kitchen sink.  Remember Monty Python’s Life of Brian?  The little old man about to be stoned?

Making it worse?  How could it be worse?  Jehovah, Jehovah, Jehovah!

This would have been a far more believable reaction.

MAY 20, 2013

You  know, keeping up a blog isn’t as easy as I had hoped.  It’s rather daunting to sit in front of a blank computer page or piece of paper and say, I’m going to write now.  Yup.  Any day now, writing will get done……I’m waiting….tap, tap, tap.  Sadly the tap, tap, tap is the sound of my fingernails on the desk and not the keyboard.  I seem to come up with the best and wittiest comments just as I’m drifting off to sleep and not while actively working.  But isn’t that the way of it?  Someone insults you and then a few hours later you think up a great comeback.  But I digress.  Let’s get back to the books and read one for the Gipper!

I finished Death of the Mantis: A Detective Kubu Mystery by Michael Stanley.  Yes, actually finished it despite the fact that it was the reading equivalent of dining on bread and water.  It was tasty enough though that I wanted to know how it ended and identity of the killer was a surprise.  However I wouldn’t recommend this book unless you were really hurting for something to read.  I will share with you one last quote.  When I read this paragraph, I could only wonder when the hell Carl Sagan had arrived.

“It’s incredible, he thought as he gazed upward, how many stars you can see when there are no lights around . . . . billions and billions of stars.”

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “May 21, 2013

  1. Grignr

    Lol! Is Nancy Drew allowed a cellphone these days?

Leave a Reply

