May 26, 2013

I’m depressed.  Flipping through the channels and finding nothing worth watching.  Flipping through books and finding nothing worth reading.  At least nothing I feel is worth reading.  I did finish a mystery book a few days ago, but I don’t think I posted about it.

Image

Faithless by Karin Slaughter, Copyright 2005, published by Bantam Dell

Slaughter seems the perfect name for a mystery writer.  So perfect that maybe it’s not her original name.  Kinda like Cheryl Strayed, author of Wild, who changed her name to fit her writing.  Seems like cheating to me, but a lot of authors do it.  My mom once told me of a doctor she went to, named Dr. Butcher.  I can’t imagine he changed his name and I can’t imagine why he wouldn’t, unless he was moonlighting for Rob Zombie films.  Other than the author’s name, nothing stands out about this book.  Typical cliche mystery.

Great Lakes Shipwrecks & Survivors by William Ratigan, copyright 1977, published by WM.B. Eerdmans (Illustrations included).

Image

I would like to point out that my copy is the Edmund Fitzgerald Edition.  Ha!  How cool is that?  As stated above, there are illustrations, but no maps.  WTF?  No maps of the Great Lakes in a book about the Great Lakes.  So, I shall graciously supply you with a map.

ImageImage

Sorry if they publish small.  They look ok to me on my draft, but you never know.  Reading glasses may be in order.

There is nothing like a great disaster book.  Sadly, this book is only a good disaster book.  There are however a large number of disasters in this book.  In 1856 alone there were 597 disasters on the Great Lakes during the navigation season (which, as far as I could figure out from research if from late March to May).  That’s a lot of downed ships and dead people. You can find more current statistics on collisions and disasters on the Great Lakes at http://www.boatnerd.com (click on Great Lakes Shipwreck Files).  I can’t imagine you would want to though unless you too were a boat nerd.

According to the author, there has been a fortune in sunken treasure in the Great Lakes for the last 3 centuries in the form of copper ingots (no doubt still worth something), beverages (hope they were well corked!), lumber (rather waterlogged by now), and cheese.  Cheese?  A fortune in 3-century-old water-soaked cheese?

Lastly, I will share a few of my favorite quotes:

1.  The ore-carrier Cyprus went down during a storm on Lake Superior. “The big carrier went out into the blow, the water creaming over her long deck . . . .”  Insert sexual inuendo joke of your choice here.

2.  The passenger whaleback “Christopher Columbus carried more passengers than any vessel since Noah’s Ark.”  I was going to make a crack about the passengers on Noah’s Ark not getting room service but the I realized that they probably did.  Not like you could send those f*ckers off to graze, could ya?

I’m off.  The cat just puked on my foot.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Cats, Uncategorized

One response to “May 26, 2013

  1. Grignr

    Looking at those lakes closely in case it ever comes up in Trivia, which it very well could.
    I think you should start an export business selling useless, ruined, and in the case if the 300-year-old cheese, vomitrocious items from shipwrecks.

    This from Sherlock Holmes: “So he sat as I dropped off to sleep, and so he sat when a sudden ejaculation caused me to wake up, and I found the summer sun shining into the apartment. The pipe was still between his lips, the smoke still curled upward, and the room was full of a dense tobacco haze, but nothing remained of the heap of shag which I had seen upon the previous night.
    The Man with the Twisted Lip, 1891”
    Numerous websites cite examples of Holmes and Watson ejaculating. One even has apparently COUNTED, and shares with us that Watson ejaculates more than Holmes. I love the internet.

Leave a Reply

