May 31, 2013

Image

Broke the beer mold today and had 2 glasses of Ecco Domani Pinot Grigio instead.  I’m waiting for Silenus, the God of Beer, to strike me down.  Apparently there are multiple beer gods (see http://socyberty.com/folklore/10-ancient-gods-of-beer/), but Silenus seems to be top god.  Frankly, I say whoever is paying the tab is top god.  Had a quiet late lunch/early dinner at Red Lobster with the hubby.  I prefer Joe’s Crab Shack, but I also prefer to have some money left in my wallet after a meal.

books

J. and his wife M., lent and/or gave (I can’t remember which) me 3 mystery books.  The first one, Faithless, has already been discussed in an earlier post.  I didn’t think much of Faithless and I think even less of this next book.

Compulsion (An Alex Delaware Novel) by Jonathan Kellerman, copyright 2008, published by Random House is another typical whojunit, except for perhaps the transvestitism.  Couldn’t say.  I don’t read that many mystery books but I am upping my count.

I had high hopes for this book as it had a much higher body count than Faithless.  However the brain cell count was at a minimum.  Ever read a book, reach the end and have to ask yourself what the hell you just read?  I had a definite what the fuck moment when I closed this book.  I know who died, I know who killed them and I know who solved the crime.  What I need is a side order of Why and the wine list. 

Before I discuss this book further (and it won’t be much further), I would like you to stop here and ask yourself what your definition of “broad daylight” is before reading further.

My definition of broad daylight would be during the day, say 12 noon.  The sun has fully risen and has not yet begun to set.  Thus broad daylight.  I found it interesting that in summary of the plot on the inner sleeve, we are told that a retired school teacher is stabbed in broad daylight.  Yet, when the moment came in the book, she was actually stabbed at 6:32 a.m.  The author was precise about the time of the stabbing.  6:32 a.m.  Nothing broad about that daylight.

And finally, just a few passing comments on our favorite detective, Nancy Drew.  I chose this book cover for a reason.  I won’t be covering this book on my blog, but I want you all to notice where Nancy is shining that flashlight.  Apparently the window must be hidden up the peacock’s ass.

nancy

In The Clue of the Black Keys, a criminal “leered triumphantly” at Nancy.  Definitions:  Leer:  An unpleasantly lustful look.  Triumphantly:  Having achieved victory or success.  When I asked Bing and Google to bring up images of a triumphant leer this was their best result.

leer  Seems more of an apathetic indifferent leer of triumph to me.

When Nancy, in The Mystery at the Ski Jump asks a hotel clerk for a description of a man who had just checked out, the clerk replies, “Oh, the usual type.  Small and slender.  Dark eyes.  Slick patent-leather hair.”  I don’t know about you, but I didn’t know that patent-leather toupees were sold.  Let me Google that. . . .  Well, I found a lot of patent-leather shoes and some patent-leather hair bows, but no patent-leather hair.  You would think this guy would be east to catch as that sort of ‘do must stand out.  He must cover it with a mohair hat.

The Man With The Iron Fists is our next Netflix pick.

iron

2012 – Combining kung-fu action and hip-hop style, this martial arts thriller relates the saga of a Chinese blacksmith caught up in a battle between clans. Forced to defend his own village, the blacksmith channels primeval forces that make him invincible.

Like me, I bet you’re all looking forward to hearing about this gem!

1 Comment

Filed under Beer, Books, Movies

One response to “May 31, 2013

  1. Grignr

    Looks like Dionysus may be a bit more fun to hang out with. At least it appears he can walk about on his own, fer chrissake!! I am looking forward to your ‘Man With the Iron Fists’ review. Cool blog!

Leave a Reply

