June 10, 2013

Image

My latest taste test was Ace Perry Hard Cider from the California Cider Company.  Unlike the Mr. Pineapple beer, I could actually taste the fruit in this drink.  I found the cider to be crisp and smooth, and as Gollum would say, “Drink it, drink it, while we can!”  It is a little known fact that in the first draft of the Lord of The Rings, Gollum dragged a cooler around with him and still had a few Ace Perry Hard Ciders inside when he ran into Frodo and Sam in Emyn Muil.

Image

Cursed in New England:  Stories of Damned Yankees by Joseph A.Citro

I wouldn’t say this was a very good book overall, but it had it moments.  I tend to get giddy when a book I’m reading ties in with another book I’m reading or one I’ve just read.  Not only was there a tie in between this book and Haunted Happenings as posted earlier, but also with Great Lakes Shipwrecks & Survivors.  Really, I’m giddy!  This coincidence concerns a couple of ships named Phoenix.  You’d think they’d quit using this as it never lives up to its name.  No matter how often a Phoenix has sunk, it has never risen again.

Our first Phoenix in Cursed in New England was a 146-foot paddle wheeler that went down in flames on Lake Champlain in 1819.  Phoenix (#2) Great Lakes Shipwrecks & Survivors was a propeller boat that went down in flames on Lake Michigan in 1847.

Now, if two ships named Phoenix going down in flames isn’t odd enough, both their captains, Capt. Jehaziel Sherman (Phoenix #1) and Capt. G. B. Sweet (Phoenix #2), became incapacitated on the first day of travel and the ships were taken over by the first mates.  Synchronicity or mere coincidence?

My biggest complaint towards Mr. Citro is his use of the adjective “mucus-colored” to describe storm clouds.  One wonders what mucus-colored clouds drop.

Image

City of Bones by Michael Connelly, copyright 2002, published by Little, Brown

This book was lent to me by my friend D.  Apparently Mr. Connelly is quite popular, having written Lincoln Lawyer.  I’ve neither read Lincoln Lawyer nor seen the movie, but as for City of Bones, it should be called City of Boredom.  Serious snooze time here folks.  ‘Nuff said.

Image

Death Race 3 Inferno is the next movie that has been ordered by Netflix by the hubby. After seeing some previews, I feel this movie should be titled Tits and Tires.  I will not be reviewing this movie as I have to change the cat litter that night or some such thing.

I am now going to go read, and you’re not going to believe this title:

Cannibals and Evil Cult Killers:  The Most Unthinkable and Heinous Crimes (the darkest, innermost, secrets of cannibals and evil cult killers are revealed).

I’m pretty sure this is one of the longest book titles I’ve ever come across.  And just so you know, the longest song title is:  How could you believe me when I said I loved you when you know I’ve been a liar all my life?

Fun facts people.  I look forward to your comments.

2 Comments

Filed under Beer, Books, Movies

2 responses to “June 10, 2013

  1. Grignr

    Wow, I did miss this post! I too have a violent dislike of over-long titles..my theory is; the longer the title the worse the book. However, he had me at ‘mucus-colored’.

  2. Sam

    Coming to theaters near you this summer…
    One man…
    Two boobs…
    Four tires…
    The race of a lifetime could cost him everything…even the girl who’s boobs he loves…the stakes are high…and the standards are low… TITS AND TIRES 3: MAMMARY INFERNO!

Leave a Reply

