June 23, 2013

I just received the July/August edition of Bookmarks Magazine (For Everyone Who Hasn’t Read Everything) thanks to the generosity of my good friend G.

Image

It is also, apparently, for the cat who hasn’t slept on everything.  My actual point of all this is, if you don’t have a generous friend to get you a subscription to this great magazine, splurge and get one for yourself!

Image

Finally finished this book thank some religious deity or other.  So, in summary, two natural deaths and one frame-up for a death.  Not much of a mystery if you ask me, which is good because the characters in this book are too busy eating, drinking copiously and getting it on with each other to actually get any work done.

My next book due to be read is for my nonfiction book group:

Image

The Devil in the White City:  Murder, Magic and Madness at the Fair That Changed America by Erik Larson, copyright 2003, published by Vintage Books (2 maps and some photos included).

This plot of this book intertwines the true tale of two men–the architect behind the 1893 World’s Fair; and the cunning serial killer who used the fair to lure his victims to their death.

Architects = dull

Serial Killers = most excellent

We shall see what this book has to offer.

Image

On a final note, I was watching Deadly Ambition on the Biography Channel.  A man calls 9-1-1 after finding his wife bleeding out on the garage floor.  the 9-1-1 operator asks him if his wife is conscious.  He replies “I don’t think so.”  The operator then asks if his wife is breathing, to which he answers “No.”  Sir, if your wife is not breathing, its a pretty good guess that SHE IS NOT CONSCIOUS EITHER!  So if your wife is not breathing and the 9-1-1 operator asks if she is conscious, you answer NO.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “June 23, 2013

  1. Grignr

    I am glad the kitty (Motorbutt?>sigh>I can never keep them straight) enjoys Bookmarks too. I look at it as something you need to have, that I am able give you.
    The 911 call reminds me of a sign we have in the spin room. It says “If anyone loses consciousness unexpectedly, follow these instructions..” and gives you CPR advice. Well, I believe I can speak for all of us instructors when I say we none of us expect ANYONE to lose consciousness and in fact fervently hope no one ever does. And we are already trained in CPR, thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

