June 29, 2013

Image

Our movie of the week was The Impossible, a 2012 English-language Spanish drama based on a family’s experience in the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. The cast included Naomi Watts and Ewan McGregor.  I don’t know about you, but when I watch disaster films I expect disaster, not touchy-feely-oh-everybody-lived-isn’t-that-wonderful.  Body count people.  Body count.  Don’t expect to see any more than 3-4 corpses in this film though.  Call me a hardass (that would be you, G.), but I was hoping for hundreds.  Nope.  Not in this film.  This is an awwww…sniff…sniff film.  Bleh.  Go rent The Towering Inferno or either of the Poseidon movies if you want a fun disaster movie because frankly I found this film impossible.

mountain monsters

Our TV show of the night.  Mountain Monsters.  Ever hear of this one?  It consists of a bunch of unhealthy, unwashed men lumbering through the woods after “monsters” whilst yelling “sho nuff” and “sumna bitch” almost continuously.  I’m thinking that anything they’re hunting has heard them more than a mile away.  Sho ’nuff.  What was tonight’s creature?  The Ohio Grassman.  Grassman?  My first thought was a renegade marijuana grower.  My second was a creature made of grass, the legal kind.  Kinda like the Swamp Creature I guess.  The Ohio Grassman it turns out is Bigfoot.  Ho hum.  The most frightening part of this show was when one of the men shucked off his shoe to reveal a size 14 foot with a set of toenails that appear not to have been clipped since Reagan was president.  There’s your f-ing monster boys!

I know I’ll have nightmares!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “June 29, 2013

Leave a Reply

