July 1, 2013

Image

The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

Nope, not finished yet.  I’m supposed to have read this by 7/3/2013 for nonfiction book group.  Everyone I’ve talked to says this is their favorite Erik Larson book.  Not mine.  I would pick Isaac’s Storm myself.  Higher body count and a better read in my opinion.  There seems to be no connection between the architects working on the Chicago World’s Fair and H.H. Holmes (the serial killer) except that they happened to be in the same place at the same time.  If I wanted to read a book on buildings and the World’s Fair I would buy a book on buildings and the World’s Fair.  Owning, as I do, a large collection of true crime books, I’ve already read of H.H. Holmes’ homicide hotel many times.  It’s not that it isn’t well written.  It is.  It’s just. . . . unnecessary.

I'd Know

I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman, copyright 2010, published by HarperCollins

A pretty fun read but an annoying writing style.  Back and forth, back and forth.  Past-present, past-present.  I hate that.  Start with one, then progress into the other.  It’s like reading the original arcade game Pong.  Remember that game?

Pong When I was in junior high I loved this game.  Of course, it was pretty much the only game so it’s not like you had much choice.  I’d give you a website for more info, but really it’s just as boring as it looks.

7/3/2013 Update

Finished both books.  My assessment of The Devil In The White City stays the same.  I’d Know You Anywhere however only got worse.  The lamest, most dumbass ending ever!  According to Stephen King it’s the “best suspense novel of the year.”  Really?  Only if your reading for the year consisted of Beatrix Potter.

6 Comments

Filed under Books, Uncategorized

6 responses to “July 1, 2013

  1. You’re right about The Devil in the White City. Other than HH Holmes being in Chicago at the time of the World Exposition, there really is nothing connecting the two stories together. The stories about the architects/architecture were mildly interesting, but I was more intrigued by HH Holmes, and I don’t think this books gave much details about him. I would have rather liked it to have focused more on Holmes than the world expo.

  2. Grignr

    I told you..too many words! Great blog.

  3. angiedet

    Came over to read your thoughts on Devil after yoru comment. We’re definitely on the same page. I could not love “Not Oprah’s Books” more for the title of your blog and I’m a wee bit jealous of it. Enjoyed reading many of your posts today. Keep up the great writing!

  4. Thank you for your comments. Please continue to leave more feedback (good or bad). I will drink a beer and read a book in your name! *L*

Leave a Reply

