July 20, 2013

Image

The Eye of Argon by Jim Theis, copyright 2006 by Wildside Press

The Eye of Argon is a heroic fantasy novella that narrates the adventures of Grignr, a barbarian. It was written in 1970 by Jim Theis and circulated anonymously in science fiction fandom since then. It has been described as “one of the genre’s most beloved pieces of appalling prose” and “the apotheosis of bad writing”.  (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Eye_of_Argon)

The introduction, In Search of Jim Theis, by Lee Weinstein is – without doubt – the most enjoyable and readable section of this 74-page travesty. 

Badly written, badly spelled and badly edited (if indeed it was edited at all).  Why perfectly sane and sober people would waste time reading this is beyond me, which may explain why – being neither sane nor sober – my friend G. loves it so.

So thanks G., for loaning me something that gave me more grammatical nightmares than any badly-written student horror film I’ve seen.

Image

History of a Suicide:  My Sister’s Unfinished Life by Jill Bialosky, copyright 2011, published by Washington Square Press

In April 1990, Jill Bialosky’s 21-year-old sister committed suicide.  A quickly summed up book and a quickly read book.  Despite her overuse of other author’s writings and poetry, Ms. Bialosky often has moments of amazing insight.  Sadly however, this does not make the book worth reading.  If you see it in the bookstore, pass it by.

Image

London Bridges by James Patterson, copyright 2004, published by Warner Books

This is the 10th Alex Cross Novel and I’m guessing the most unrealistic.  From what I recall, Mr. Cross started out saving people but now he’s saving the world from the Wolf, a “supercriminal” who is threatening the blow up London, Paris and New York. 

And what’s more, he has a time limit.  Four days and then ka-boom.  No worries, Mr. Cross has this covered.  As a matter of fact, he’s so amazing that he has time for lunch.  Not a “we’ll have someone run out and grab you a burger Mr. Cross” type lunch but an hour-and-a-half lunch of “barley soup, zuppe engadinese; a casserole, veltliner topf; and very good wine.”

My final review?  A resounding Pfffffffffffffffffffft!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “July 20, 2013

  1. Grignr

    It was my honor to loan it to you. Apparently the so-bad-it’s-good genre doesn’t hold the same delight for you as it does me which is a sign that YOUR TASTE IS ALL IN YOUR MOUTH! And now you know where my screen name for trivia comes from, which will necessarily be fascinating to you, as all things about me must surely be.
    You saw a student-written horror film? Cool!
    I am going to change my name to ‘Veltliner Topf.

  2. Dear G. My mouth and I feel that Veltliner Topf is a better name than Grignr.

Leave a Reply

