July 29, 2013

I apologize beforehand for the blah-ness of this post, but I enjoyed both books.  According to Lawrence Donegan, author of the first book, “an angry journalist is a good journalist.”  I feel that for me, an angry blogger is a good blogger.  If don’t enjoy a book, I have a far better time ripping it apart than I do promoting a book I enjoyed.  Sadly, I am not angry with these books for this post.  Sorry.

no news

No News At Throat Lake: In Search of Ireland by Lawrence Donegan, copyright 2000, published by Pocket Books

Odd title I know, but it’s an Irish lake and damned if I can relocate where in this book the author gives the Irish name.  Something unpronounceable by me.  Mr. Donegan (one-time bassist for Lloyd Cole and the Commotions – see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lloyd_Cole_and_the_Commotions) decides he needs a change from London and where better than the village of Creeslough, Ireland?

I bought this book on a whim while browsing the Travel section at Bookman’s and am happy I did.  A quick read at only 250 pages, Mr. Donegan’s description of his brief job as a farmhand (“[cows] have about as much native wit and common sense as Prince Andrew”), as well as his subsequent job as a journalist for the Tirconaill Tribune makes for a good evening, especially when you’ve had the beer in the freezer and it’s almost at that slushy stage.

I’m not going to tell you to run right out and buy this book, but I bought it used for $7.00 and felt it well worth the price.

Image

Lily Dale: The True Story of the Town that Talks to the Dead by Christine Wicker, copyright 2003, published by Harper Collins

I read and enjoyed Not In Kansas Anymore: A Curious Tale of How Magic is Transforming America by this same author, so when I spied a copy of Lily Dale for $6.00 at Bookman’s I figured why not?

Lily Dale is a spiritualist community (http://www.lilydaleassembly.com/) in Chautauqua County, New York.  We are right in the middle of their 2013 Summer Season (June 28 to September 1) if you care to pop on over for a reading, healing or evidence of clairvoyance.

I believe I pointed out in one of my first posts that I’m a non-believing believer.  Personally I think these people are mostly comprised of kooks.  I confess that I have always been tempted to go to a medium just so I can jump up at the end of the reading and say, “Ha! You are so wrong!”

I would often suspect Ms. Wicker of being way too gullible in her acceptance of Lily Dale only to have her turn around and smack me with scepticism.  Ms. Wicker has a writing style that draws you into her books.  Just enough personal detail to make it interesting, but not so much that you get annoyed.

Again, I wouldn’t say buy this book unless you enjoy reading new age or paranormal material and can get it cheap.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “July 29, 2013

  1. Grignr

    A kinder, gentler sort of blog!

Leave a Reply

