August 2, 2013

Image

Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal by Mary Roach, copyright 2013, published by W. W. Norton & Company

According to the Washington Post, Mary Roach is “America’s funniest science writer.”  I wholeheartedly agree.  As you can tell by the cover art and the definition of alimentary (concerned with the function of nutrition; nutritive), Gulp studies how the digestive systems works.

I rather pride myself on having a strong stomach, but by the time I hit the chapter on saliva I was feeling a tad queasy.  Should this occur while you’re reading this book (and you should read this book), take a few deep breaths and continue. 

My only bone to pick with Ms. Roach is in chapter 9 when she recalls the chest-bursting scene from Aliens as happening “during a meeting.”  I was sure it actually occurred during a meal.  But, just to be sure I looked that up (http://tiny.cc/tk170w).

March Roach has also written (from most recent back):

  • Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void
  • Bonk: The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex
  • Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife
  • Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers

If you enjoy this type of book, may I also recommend Mutter Museum Historic Medical Photographs by College of Physicians of Philadelphia.  (I’d loan you my copy G., but you won’t even look at my book on Civil War amputation photos).

Image

And now on a negative note, let’s briefly talk jobs.  I landed the second transcription job I wanted with Net Transcripts, Inc.  Hurrah you say?  Not yet.  Ask me how my first day at work was.  My first day at work was so bad I found myself drinking beer and reading Nancy Drew at 2:00 a.m. Wednesday morning.  I can hear you now.  “Nooooooooooo, not more Nancy Drew!”  HA!  A bad day at work loves company, so:

Image

Nancy Drew: Mystery of the Glowing Eye by Carolyn Keene, copyright 1974, published by Grosset & Dunlap

But wait, you are in luck!  Only one quote:

“An ambulance with a police surgeon and a patrol car with two other officers reached the house within minutes.  Dr. Tompkin quickly examined the injured guard.

“‘Dooley got a severe blow on his head.  We’ll take him to the hospital at once.  Probably have to operate.'”

“‘That’s dreadful!'” Mrs Gruen spoke up.

“‘Indeed it is, ma’am,” said one of the remaining men, who introduced himself as Erman.  “And so is all crime.”

Image

No, really?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “August 2, 2013

  1. Grignr

    You are by-god correct that I ain’t gonna look at your freakin’ Civil War amputation book. How is it that something like that even EXISTS?? EDITOR: “Why, someone has written a picture book of Civil War amputations..let us publish it NOW!”
    PUBLISHER: “And HOW!!”
    WTF??? Or, I should say, that’s dreadful!

  2. Grignr

    PS You are right..it was while they were eating a meal. So there!

  3. Sam

    Oh, Gina, you didn’t know there was such a demand for MORE literature about Civil War Amputation? Apparently you’re just not a hip reader, are ya? There are whole clubs dedicated to people who are determined to bring the bloodiest, shoddiest civil war amputation techniques back to the shelves of their local libraries. From what I understand, they’re working on getting more DIY style handbooks printed up to be sold at a Michael’s craft store near you. I know I’ve already pre-ordered MY copy!

Leave a Reply

