August 14, 2013

war

War by Sebastian Junger, copyright 2011, published by Twelve

Perhaps you have heard this “rhyme” before about books:

You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll kiss $2.50 goodbye

Of course it was a good 25 years ago that we’d say the $2.50, but back then you could get a Pocket paperback for around that amount.  Now it’s literary robbery.  This rhyme does NOT apply to this book at all!  I had to change it to:

You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, this is the best book you’ll buy

Which depending on your taste may or may not be true but this is one hell of a book.  You will laugh and you will cry.  Have tissues ready.  I was sorry when this book finished and am now giving serious consideration to A Perfect Storm which is by the same author.  The subject matter of said book has never held interest for me, but Mr. Junger writes a mean book.  If you have any interest in military history read this book.

You can find out more about Mr. Junger as http://www.sebastianjunger.com

You can find out more about the publishing company (they only publish 1 book per month) at http://www.twelvebooks.com

dead17dead18

The Walking Dead 17:  Something to Fear by Robert Kirkland, copyright 2012, published by Image/The Walking Dead 18:  What Comes after by Robert Kirkland, copyright 2013, published by Image

The Walking Dead is my graphic novel soap opera.  I can’t miss them.  I won’t say they’re the best graphic novels ever written, they’re not.   My vote for that goes to V For Vendetta.  But these suckers are addictive.  The action never stops.  I tried following the TV show for a while but quit once it started deviating too much from the book.  Comparing notes with the hubby (who does watch the show), people have been killed off in the show who are alive in the book and vice versa.

Now, I don’t know if any of you follow the book or the show, but one character I wish they’d both kill off is Rick.  He is such a wishy-washy little wuss.  No leader here.  Frankly Michonne should be the leader.  She kicks ass!

I’m sorry to yet again have such a nice, positive blog but I’ve had the luck to have read some really good books recently.

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “August 14, 2013

  1. Grignr

    Ha ha! You’re apologizing for being nice!!

  2. Grignr

    Also I just reserved War At the library. I’ve heard a lot of good things about him as an author.

  3. Yes I am apologizing for being nice. I don’t think my nice blogs are as fun to read as my mean ones. : p I hope you enjoy War

Leave a Reply

