September 20, 2013 – Michael Connelly, Firoozeh Dumas and Craig Roberts

Image

The Reversal by Michael Connelly, copyright 2010, published by Little, Brown and Company

Longtime defense attorney Mickey Haller is recruited to prosecute the retrial of a brutal child murderer exonerated by new DNA evidence.  Haller is convinced the killer is guilty, and he takes the case on the condition that he gets to choose his investigator, LAPD Detective Harry Bosch.

I still can’t figure out why Mr. Connelly is so popular.  I have certainly read my fill and would not have read The Reversal had it not been chosen by the mystery book club as the September book.  This is however partially my fault.  Had I not missed so many previous meetings, I could have voted to oust this pick.

This is the sequel to The Lincoln Lawyer, a book I never read.  I never saw the movie either.  Perhaps if I had I might have appreciated The Reversal better.  I doubt it.  In my opinion, Mr. Connelly commits a cardinal sin by skipping back and forth between first and third person.  I hate that.

This is why it is so important to vote!

Image

Funny In Farsi: A Memoir of Growing up Iranian in America by Firoozeh Dumas, copyright 2003, published by Random House

In 1972 when she was seven, Firoozeh Dumas and her family moved from Iran to Southern California, arriving with no firsthand knowledge of this country beyond her father’s glowing memories of his graduate school years here.

And the gut-busting laughter supposedly soon follows.  NOT.  I checked briefly to see if I could find out how to say not in Farsi but nothing came up quickly enough and I couldn’t be bothered for serious research for one word.  This is another book I’m happy I borrowed through the library.

I get recommendations from Goodreads and Amazon and then read other customer reviews.  Apparently I am not in the majority when it comes humor.  Funny in Farsi is Funny-ish.  Customer reviews promised me “Hilarious”, “Laugh out loud” and “Funny”.

Dave Barry can have me laughing out loud the day after my cat dies.  Laurie Notaro makes me laugh until I cry.  Firoozeh Dumas had me coming up with adjectives such as cute and nice.  But not like puppy or kitten cute, not an Awww kind of cute.  These words may not really go together but I’m going to call this a monotonous cute.  No real ups or downs.  A consistently nice book.  Nice.

crosshairs

Crosshairs in the Kill Zone: American Combat Snipers, Vietnam through Operation Iraqi Freedom by Craig Roberts and Charles Sasser, copyright 2004, published by Pocket Books

Okay, now we’re getting on to my kind of book!  Yet sadly even this book as enjoyable as it was, especially for military combat buffs, had its shortcomings.  Every second or third chapter, instead of covering the story of a sniper, covered the history of snipers schools.  Yawn.

My husband patiently (snottily really) pointed out that snipers have to learn their craft before being sent out in the field.  And as I often say, that’s fine but I don’t want to read about it.  I had to learn to read and write before I could start this blog but I’m not going to bore you with the details.

Skip the chapters on sniper school and you’ve got a good book.  To prove it, I’m going to end with a few paragraphs from a sniper in Vietnam that made my day.

A Bird Dog, a Cessna spotter plane, who happened to be cruising the skies in the vicinity overheard the radio chatter.  He banked, dropped lower to the south of us, and flew back.  He came up on the channel.

“I see enemy elements across the river,” he reported.  “I’ll mark them with red smoke.”

We watched him through field glasses.  That Air Force pilot was one ballsy dude.  He nosed the tiny plane down, came in hard and swept on through the tracers blasting out of the forest at him.  A red puff of smoke marked one end of the enemy’s flank.

He then marked the other flank.  Through binoculars, I saw him extend his arm out the window of the Cessna as he made his pass, a .38 pistol in hand.  Green tracers webbed the sky all around the little plane as the gooks unleashed everything they had at him – and he returns fire with a pistol.  A guy with courage like that, I would have kissed his ass in Macy’s window.

And I would have watched.

guncat

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “September 20, 2013 – Michael Connelly, Firoozeh Dumas and Craig Roberts

  1. Gina

    OMG great blog! Let’s all remember to vote LOL. And you landed right on why I don’t read more biographies. They always tell me waaaaay more than I care to know about the subject. No, Peter Ackroyd, I don’t give a holy shit what the light would have been like coming through Charles Dickens’ window in a house he lived in for 4 months when he was 3 years old. Let’s just skip ahead to the part where he has the affair with the actress, SHALL WE????
    This is such a great blog I hereby volunteer to kiss your ass in Kohl’s window.
    PS I want to change my name to Firoozeh Dumas.

Leave a Reply

