October 5, 2013 – Robert Lesslie M.D., Ozzy Osbourne

Image

Angels in the ER:  Inspiring True Stories from an Emergency Room Doctor by Robert D. Lesslie, M.D., copyright 2008, published by MJF Books

Urgent care physician Lesslie believes that emergencies are opportunities to demonstrate God’s grace! Here he shares stories of the miraculous from his 25 years in the ER. You’ll witness the handiwork of angels—friends, doctors, nurses, strangers, and unseen “others; learn to hold onto faith during tragedy and triumph; and embrace the healing balm of hope.  (http://www.christianbook.com)

The fact that I got the above synopsis from a Christian site, it’s obvious that Angels in the ER is a God book.  Having bought it on sale in Barnes & Nobel and not reading the inner sleeve synopsis closely enough (yet again), I failed to realize this until I opened the book and saw all the scriptures starting each chapter.

Having pointed that out, aside from the scriptures this was an enjoyable book.  I found many of the stories to be, and I almost hate to use this word, touching.  This is not a genre for everybody but for those who enjoy angel or paranormal books I would say try it but get it on loan from the library.

In finality I re-wrote the following scripture because it was wrong:

All man are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers in the field.  – ISAIAH 40:6

My version:

All men are like grass, and need to be mowed down every week or two.  – ELVEGA 1:43 AM

Image

Image

Trust Me, I’m Dr. Ozzy:  Advice from Rock’s Ultimate Survivor by Ozzy Osbourne, published 2011, published by Grand Central publishing

This is not an autobiography.  This is based on his columns in the Sunday Times and Rolling Stone wherein idiots would write in and ask “Dr.” Ozzy for medical advice.

I have never bought a Black Sabbath album nor watched The Osbournes and yet people kept recommending this book to me.  Having become annoyed with The Perfect Storm which I’ll cover in another post, I reserved this from the library.  My husband was busting a gut in the passenger seat all the way home from the library, and I confess to having had a few LOL moments myself.

My friend G. flipped through the book during dinner at Risky Business yesterday and proclaimed that after a chapter or two, the book would get boring.  But as Captain Tenneal from dubbed Japanese game show MXC would say, “Well, you’re wrong!”  If you’ve never watched MXC you should, right after you finish watching The Young Ones.  Captain Tenneal – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzCc5qpycTc

I’m going to share a few of my favorites so you won’t have to read the book but what the hell, give it a try.  I’m glad I did.

DIY Surgery – What NOT to Try. . .

Self-circumcision with a pair of old nail clippers.  A bloke in Hertfordshire tried this in 2009 an ended up in the emergency ward with a plaster cast on his knob.  “This is something we would advise men never to attempt,” said the hospital.  No fucking shit, man.

Image

Dear Dr. Ozzy:

I want to look like a celebrity but can’t afford the high cost of getting my acne scares removed by a surgeon.  If I buy my own silicone on the Internet, could I simply treat the scars myself (I’ve seen how doctors on reality TV shows do the injections)?

No, no, fuck no, absolutely no way, and NO again.  Times a million.  I saw Neil Armstrong land on the moon on the telly, but that doesn’t mean I could pilot the Mars Rover, does it?

ozzy cat

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

