October 15, 2013 – James Patterson and Amanda Lindhout

Image

Cat & Mouse by James Patterson, copyright 1997, published by Vision

weasel

Pop Goes The Weasel by James Patterson, copyright 1999, published by Warner

Okay, okay I confess.  I’ve become a Patterson junkie.  I’m pretty sure that Patterson is actually Carolyn Keene.  After all he writes about wardrobes and meals just the same.  The only difference between Nancy Drew and Alex Cross is that Cross has sex.  Lots of it.  Mr. Cross seems to be always thinking to himself that he never felt like this about a woman before.  Except for the last book and the book before that.

You might note I didn’t put in a synopsis of the plots.  You know why?  Because I’ll be damned if I can remember what these books were about.  Alex Cross solving murders – as usual.  Oh, and having sex.

housesky

A House in the Sky by Amanda Lindhout

What’s most striking about Amanda Lindhout’s harrowing, beautifully written memoir, A House in the Sky (4 stars out of four), isn’t that she survived 460 days as a hostage in Somalia. Or that she endured gang rape, beatings and starvation at the hands of her teenage captors. It’s that she was able to forgive them.

An aspiring journalist, Lindhout’s plan was to go to Somalia, dubbed “the most dangerous place on earth,” to put her on the fast track to establishing herself in the news industry.  (see USA Today http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/books/2013/09/07/a-house-in-the-sky-amanda-lindhout-review/2758935/)

What’s most striking about Amanda Lindhout is she willingly put herself in that situation.  Aspiring to go from small potatoes to owning the whole farm is not a good reason to go to Somalila where you know you might get your ass killed.  This book was picked by the non-fiction book group I attend so I pushed myself to finish it.  Frankly I quickly tired of little miss poor me and would have thrown the book across the room (except I was disinclined to destroy my new eReader).

Is she brave?  Yup.  Is she a survivor?  Hell yes.  But mostly she is S-T-U-P-I-D.  I’ll enjoy the next James Patterson more.

dumbcat

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “October 15, 2013 – James Patterson and Amanda Lindhout

  1. Grignr

    Could we call her the Cheryl Strayed of journalism??

Leave a Reply

