October 20, 2013 – Yitta Halberestam, Phil Cousineau and Mark Victor Hansen

I’ve been a little slow lately getting my posts up but frankly I’ve been too busy playing with my new Kobo eReader.  It has a built-in light which is the main reason I bought it.  I can also browse the internet, etc.  Would I recommend it though?  Nope.  It needs major tweaking.  First, you can bookmark pages but once you’re past the bookmarked page you no longer have access to the bookmark and have to flip through the entire book again.  Even my ancient Sony eReader has working bookmarks.  Secondly, you can press the screen for ages trying to turn a page and nothing happens, but accidentally brush the book as you momentarily place it down and suddenly you’re chapters in.  Return it?  Nah.  I bought it at a local book store run by a friend of mine and it’ll work well enough for my needs.  I confess to looking at the latest Kindle Fire but I really don’t know who has the best eReader or tablet.

The three books I’m covering today I consider to be related:  Miracles/Angels/Coincidence.

smallmiracles

Small Miracles: Extraordinary Coincidences from Everyday Life by Yitta Halberstam & Judith Leventhan, copyright 2008, published by Adams Media

“Incredible-but-true” stories of miracles and supposed synchronicity experienced by the authors.

philcousineau

Coincidence or Destiny? by Phil Cousineau, copyright 1997, published by Conari Press

Collected episodes of synchronicity that defy explanation from the lives of real people.

According to Wikipedia, Synchronicity is the experience of two or more events as meaningfully related, whereas they are unlikely to be causally related.  The subject sees it as a meaningful coincidence, although the events need not be exactly simultaneous in time.  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synchronicity)

What these authors call synchronicity in their books I’m inclined to put down to luck or happenstance.  However, I’m willing to admit (or perhaps hope) to the possibility.  I enjoy books of this sort.  The stories or short and often intriguing.  Carl Jung believed in synchronicity and even coined the term so ’tis said.

If I had to chose, of the two I consider Mr. Cousineau’s book to be the better read as it covers stories contributed by many people, not just personal encounters.

chickenangels

Chicken Soup for the Soul: Angels Among us by Mark Hansen, Jack Canfield and Amy Newmark, copyright 2013, published by Chicken Soup for the Soul Publishing – eBook

101 supposedly inspirational stories of “miracles, faith and answered prayers”.

I may be a confirmed atheist but I love reading these stories.  I just disagree with the religious slant.  To me it’s more paranormal then an act of God or of angels.  What if it’s just your great granddad come back to take the piss out of you or give you a helping hand?  How do these people know for sure it’s angels except that they believe in angels and therefore it must be so.

“Children often have imaginary playmates.  I suspect that half of them are really their guardian angels.”  – The Angels Little Instruction Book

angelcat2

What if more than half of them are really demonic entities?

devil cat

My husband believes I should just take it as fact that the paranormal and God exist, but as I keep saying, I’m a disbelieving believer.  I enjoy reading this genre but I’m still looking for proof.  SO if any of my readers have a story they’re willing to share in the comments that would be great!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

